The Akron Sound: The Heyday of the Midwest's Punk Capital

The Akron Sound: The Heyday: 1625858639: epub

Product details


  • Full Title: The Akron Sound: The Heyday of the Midwest’s Punk Capital
  • Autor: Calvin C. Rydbom
  • Print Length: 160 pages
  • Publisher: The History Press
  • Publication Date: March 5, 2018
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1625858639
  • ISBN-13: 978-1625858634
  • Download File Format | Size: epub | 3.33 MB


Download Link


>>> Download <<<



Music made in Akron symbolized an attitude more so than a singular sound. Crafted by kids hell-bent on not following their parents into the rubber plants, the music was an intentional antithesis of Top 40 radio. Call it punk or call it new wave, but in a short few years, major labels signed Chrissie Hynde, Devo, the Waitresses, Tin Huey, the Bizarros, the Rubber City Rebels and Rachel Sweet. They had their own bars, the Crypt and the Bank. They had their own label, Clone Records. They even had their own recording space, Bushflow Studios. London’s Stiff Records released an Akron compilation album, and suddenly there were “Akron Nights” in London clubs and CBGB was waiving covers for people with Akron IDs. Author Calvin Rydbom of the “Akron Sound” Museum remembers that short time when the Rubber City was the place.

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

With a master’s in library sciences from Kent State and a master’s in English from the University of Akron, Calvin Rydbom is the vice-president and archivist of the Akron Sound Museum and vice-president of freelance archiving firm Pursue Posterity. He has published a number of music-related articles and was elected to the Society of American Archivists steering committee on recorded sound before being promoted to website liaison.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *