Dmitri Shostakovich Catalogue: The First Hundred Years and Beyond

Dmitri Shostakovich Catalogue: 0810872641: pdf

Product details


  • Full Title: Dmitri Shostakovich Catalogue: The First Hundred Years and Beyond
  • Autor: Derek C. Hulme
  • Print Length: 822 pages
  • Publisher: Scarecrow Press; Fourth edition
  • Publication Date: February 18, 2010
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0810872641
  • ISBN-13: 978-0810872646
  • Download File Format | Size: pdf | 3.91 MB


Download Link


>>> Download <<<



Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-75) was one of the greatest composers of the 20th century, as well as the first major Soviet composer. In the fourth edition of Dmitri Shostakovich Catalogue: The First Hundred Years and Beyond, Derek C. Hulme names and describes all known musical compositions of the Russian composer. More than 175 major works are annotated and discussed, including such comprehensive details as titles and subtitles, dates of composition, instrumentation, and duration; information on dedications and premieres; arrangements by the composer and others; publication details; notes on bibliographical references and the location of the autograph score; and comprehensive chronological lists of vinyl, compact disc, and visual recordings.

The entries are presented chronologically and by opus number, while indexes of names and compositions provide full accessibility. Several appendixes supplement the volume, guiding readers to further information in published sources and providing information on the composer's film, radio, television, and theatre productions; his abandoned projects and obscure works; and his recordings, including box sets and special USSR recordings. An appendix also discusses the monogram DSCH, a musical motif based on his name that permeates his compositions. This new edition also includes a comprehensive chronological chart of Shostakovich's works and historical events and several plates of memorabilia.


Editorial Reviews


The fourth edition of UK-based independent scholar Hulme’s catalogue represents the culmination of his efforts on behalf of Shostakovich. The first edition appeared in 1982, and revised editions were published in 1991 (CH, Dec’91, 29-1865) and 2002. This revised fourth edition is truly a treasure trove of factual information about composition dates, autograph manuscripts, published scores, and recordings. The chronological lists of recordings are almost exhaustive in their comprehensiveness (exceptions include recordings of popular works issued in limited distribution). The cut-off date is 2006, but many recordings issued in the following two years are listed. The extensive bibliography contains brief annotations. Although Hulme continues his practice of intermingling works with opus numbers with Sans Op. numbers, he understands that this arrangement is problematic and hopes that a professional musicologist will compile a definitive catalogue of works in chronological order. The simplified index of compositions is arranged strictly according to genre. Hulme’s work will serve researchers’ needs adequately. Recommended. Academic and large public libraries; lower-level undergraduates through faculty/researchers, and general readers. (CHOICE, September 2010)

The author presents very detailed data, even where Shostakovich was at the time he composed certain of his works. Hulme has compiled one of the most comprehensive catalogs of a twentieth-century composer. (American Reference Books Annual, May 2010)

Hulme’s catalogue is the most comprehensive one available, and it is impressive in its scope. It is most useful for its extensive discography, and as an English-language starting point for those interested in Shostakovich’s music. . . .In sum, Hulme’s catalogue is well-organized, easy to use, and informative for scholars, performers, and the ever-increasing general audiences of Shostakovich’s music, which captures the hopes and fears not only of his era but also of our own. It is recommended for academic and large public libraries. (Music Reference Services Quarterly)

About the Author

Derek Hulme is a jet engine designer and part-time dance band trumpeter. He has published numerous articles and recording notes on Shostakovich, including several for the Shostakovich Society’s DSCH Journal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *