Britten: Centenary Edition

Benjamin Britten by David Matthews: 1908323388: epub

Product details


  • Full Title: Britten: Centenary Edition
  • Autor: David Matthews
  • Print Length: 183 pages
  • Publisher: Haus Publishing; Centenary ed. edition
  • Publication Date: October 15, 2013
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1908323388
  • ISBN-13: 978-1908323385
  • Download File Format | Size: epub | 2.9 MB


Download Link


>>> Download <<<




Benjamin Britten was one of the outstanding British composers of the 20th century. He shot to international fame with his operas, performed by his own English Opera Group, and a series of extraordinary instrumental works. His music won a central place in the repertoire and the affection of successive generations of listeners. David Matthews brings to this biography his special insight as a fellow composer, former assistant and life-long friend of Britten to produce a uniquely personal, sensitive and authoritative account.


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

David Matthews is one of the leading composers of his generation, his music acclaimed worldwide and in the 1960s he worked as an assistant to Benjamin Britten.

Matthews’s output as a composer is centred on the classical instrumental and orchestral forms. His series of ten string quartets is one of the most distinguished that any composer has essayed in recent years. He has also written seven symphonies. They, and an accompanying cluster of works such as September Music, the Serenade, two Violin Concertos, the symphonic poem In the Dark Time and the monumental orchestral Chaconne, confirm him as one of the world’s foremost composers.

He is the author of Michael Tippett: An Introductory Study.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *